Watching movies with kids

can be entirely entertaining, esp. when they are boys. Recently I rented Samantha: An American Girl Holiday from Netflix. I was overjoyed to watch a movie that featured strong girls, had history, and had characters in it that I’d read about when I was younger. I loved the “Samantha” series (4 books when I got them) when my mother gave them to me and enjoyed reading stories that had Victorian history, to a degree, within them.

It was so funny watching this movie with him because I’d told him a little of what he’d see in it, having watched it earlier, and shortly into it he says “So when do we get to the good stuff?” Seeing as how the story line takes place during 1904 and he had been learning about that era of history the idea had intrigued him and he loves history. He was interested to see the part about children working in factories, a part that he thought was horrible and wrong.  I’m proud that he is learning and growing up with strong ideas of right and wrong. I guess that means I’m doing my job right 😉

Of course after the movie I asked him how he liked it and his response was priceless, “I would have liked it a lot more if it didn’t have so much stuff about girls.” Yup… I have a son.

You can see a little of the movie here via YouTube:

Leave a Reply

